Jesus is… the Son of God, by Ty Tamasaka

Jesus is… the Son of God, by Ty Tamasaka

images-2.jpg

15 (John testified concerning him. He cried out, saying, “This is the one I spoke about when I said, ‘He who comes after me has surpassed me because he was before me.’”) 16 Out of his fullness we have all received grace in place of grace already given. 17 For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ. 18 No one has ever seen God, but the one and only Son, who is himself God and[b] is in closest relationship with the Father, has made him known.”  John 1:15-18 NIV (emphasis mine)

30 This is the one I meant when I said, ‘A man who comes after me has surpassed me because he was before me.’ 31 I myself did not know him, but the reason I came baptizing with water was that he might be revealed to Israel.”

32 Then John gave this testimony: “I saw the Spirit come down from heaven as a dove and remain on him. 33 And I myself did not know him, but the one who sent me to baptize with water told me, ‘The man on whom you see the Spirit come down and remain is the one who will baptize with the Holy Spirit.’ 34 I have seen and I testify that this is God’s Chosen One.” John 1:30-34 NIV (emphasis mine)

49 Then Nathanael declared, “Rabbi, you are the Son of God; you are the king of Israel.” John 1:49 NIV (emphasis mine)

In verse 17, we see the Law of Moses compared with the truth and grace revealed in Jesus Christ.  The Law of Moses revealed sin in God’s people and condemned us because no one… no even one, could fulfill every part of the law.  If we explore the Old Testament Scriptures, we will see that all of the patriarchs of the faith, regardless of how influential they were, fell short according to the Law.

In John 1:17, the Law of Moses is contrasted with the grace ad truth through Jesus Christ.  We discovered in our last devotion that Jesus Christ revealed the grace and truth of God that redeems His people.  The Law of Moses prepared the way for the grace and truth of God to be made known through Jesus Christ.   Verse 16 says, “we have all received grace in place of grace already given.”  This refers to God’s continual, inexhaustible grace that abounds – far more than our sin.

1 – The Law of Moses reveals our sin.  The Son of God reveals God’s grace.

John reminds us that God’s grace and cannot be exhausted when we embrace Jesus Christ, the Son of God.  The Law of Moses reveals our sin.  The Son of God, Jesus Christ reveals the grace and truth of God.  If you want justice, see Moses, but if you want grace, see Jesus Christ.  The righteousness of God is revealed by the law.  The grace of God and the depths of God’s love is revealed in the person of Jesus Christ.    

Throughout the book of John, we see Jesus proclaimed to be the Son of God by seven witnesses.

2 – John identifies seven witnesses that testify Jesus is the Son of God.

Jesus is the Son of God and John uses seven witnesses to testify of Jesus’ identity.

1 – John the Baptist: “this is God’s Chosen One…” (1:34)
2 – Nathaniel: “Rabbi, you are the son of God…” (1:49)
3 – Peter: “…you are the Holy One of God!” (6:69)
4 – Jesus Christ: “I and the Father are one!” (10:30)
5 – Martha: “I believe that you are the Son of God!” (11:27)
6 – Thomas: “My Lord and my God!” (20:28)
7 – John: “…Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God…” (20:31)

The common understanding of Jesus as the “Son of God” and later we will discover Him as the “Son of Man” is that the terms refer to his dual nature.  Some explain Son of God to refer to Jesus’ divine nature while Son of Man refers to his humanity.  These titles are commonly used to explain Jesus is both fully divine and fully human.  We will learn more about Jesus as the Son of Man in a few devotions, but here we see Him as the Son of God.

Do you know Jesus Christ as the Son of God?   Under the Law of Moses, we are condemned.  We need to know Jesus Christ as the Son of God.  Have you proclaimed Him to be King of your life?  Salvation is a free gift that sinners receive when we trust Jesus Christ.  Through Jesus Christ, we get to

Lord Jesus, You are the Son of God.  There are too many times I take that too lightly.  Yes You are a friend to sinners.  Yes You are the Light.  Yes You are with us.  May I never forget the majesty of who You are… the Son of God.  I pray this in the name of Jesus Christ, the Son of God, amen. 

Ty Tamasaka is an author who hold a Master of Arts Degree from Pacific Rim Christian University in Christian Ministry  He is a Bible teacher who loves to encourage people to enjoy Jesus’ grace and extend His Kingdom. Ty just released his new book More than a Conqueror: 5 Pathways to Personal Revival.    

Leave a Reply

