DARING TO MAKE A STAND – A BIBLE STUDY OF DANIEL CHAPTERS 1-6 – PART 26

When Your Faith is Under Fire –  Part 4 – Persecuted Harshly

2013050117lions

14 When the king heard this, he was greatly distressed; he was determined to rescue Daniel and made every effort until sundown to save him.

15 Then the men went as a group to King Darius and said to him, “Remember, Your Majesty, that according to the law of the Medes and Persians no decree or edict that the king issues can be changed.”

16 So the king gave the order, and they brought Daniel and threw him into the lions’ den. The king said to Daniel, “May your God, whom you serve continually, rescue you!”

17 A stone was brought and placed over the mouth of the den, and the king sealed it with his own signet ring and with the rings of his nobles, so that Daniel’s situation might not be changed.”  Daniel 6:14-17 NIV

In the last devotion, we saw Daniel persevering bravely.  Here we see him persecuted harshly.  This devotion shows us a very tough lesson.

God did not want to save Daniel from the lion’s den.  He wanted to deliver him out of the lion’s den.   

The challenging lesson Daniel teaches me is that for Daniel, God was less interested in changing Daniel’s situation and more interested in changing the people around him through his situation.

This passage bugs me because I don’t like the pressure.  I want God to save me FROM my problems.  I want Him to take away my problems.  I want Him to remove my challenges.  I want Him to put my burdens far away from me.   

If you are walking through a difficult time in life as a result of being faithful to God, might it be that God is less interested in changing your situation and more interested in changing the people around you as a result of your situation?

Lord this is a tough Word, but it is good because You are good.  Help me Lord to trust You more.  Less of me… more of You.  Empower me in the challenges of life.  In the awesome name of Jesus Christ I pray, amen.

Leave a Reply

