DARING TO MAKE A STAND – A BIBLE STUDY OF DANIEL CHAPTERS 1-6 – PART 16

Affliction of the Comfortable – Part III

imgres-3

“28 All this happened to King Nebuchadnezzar. 29 Twelve months later, as the king was walking on the roof of the royal palace of Babylon, 30 he said, “Is not this the great Babylon I have built as the royal residence, by my mighty power and for the glory of my majesty?”

31 Even as the words were on his lips, a voice came from heaven, “This is what is decreed for you, King Nebuchadnezzar: Your royal authority has been taken from you. 32 You will be driven away from people and will live with the wild animals; you will eat grass like the ox. Seven times will pass by for you until you acknowledge that the Most High is sovereign over all kingdoms on earth and gives them to anyone he wishes.”

33 Immediately what had been said about Nebuchadnezzar was fulfilled. He was driven away from people and ate grass like the ox. His body was drenched with the dew of heaven until his hair grew like the feathers of an eagle and his nails like the claws of a bird.

34 At the end of that time, I, Nebuchadnezzar, raised my eyes toward heaven, and my sanity was restored. Then I praised the Most High; I honored and glorified him who lives forever.

His dominion is an eternal dominion;
his kingdom endures from generation to generation.
35 All the peoples of the earth
are regarded as nothing.
He does as he pleases
with the powers of heaven
and the peoples of the earth.
No one can hold back his hand
or say to him: “What have you done?”

36 At the same time that my sanity was restored, my honor and splendor were returned to me for the glory of my kingdom. My advisers and nobles sought me out, and I was restored to my throne and became even greater than before. 37 Now I, Nebuchadnezzar, praise and exalt and glorify the King of heaven, because everything he does is right and all his ways are just. And those who walk in pride he is able to humble.”  Daniel 4:28-37 NIV

Daniel did well in sharing the interpretation of Nebuchadnezzar’s dream.  He spoke forth God’s Word, but King Nebuchadnezzar still didn’t get it.  There are times that we as God’s people will speak forth God’s word in kind and tender ways, and people will reject it.  Daniel shows us that it should NOT stop us from speaking forth God’s Word.

God granted Nebuchadnezzar twelve months to humble himself and repent, but the king still allowed his arrogance to build and increase.  His pride increased to the point of his ruin where in verse 31, the judgment of God comes upon him. King Nebuchadnezzar teaches us two lessons on humility in the last part of Daniel 4.

1.  When God wants to humble someone, He can do it quickly and thoroughly.   

God allowed the king twelve months to repent, but Nebuchadnezzar instead became more and more proud of himself.  Judgment came as God had said and Nebuchadnezzar was driven insane.  He was driven from his palace and lived for seven years like the beasts of the field eating grass like oxen.

When God wants to humble someone, He can do it quickly and He can do it thoroughly.    

2.  It is better to humble yourself before God than to be humbled by God. 

God was gracious to give Nebuchadnezzar the opportunity to repent and turn from his arrogance and pride.

God is gracious to give you and I the opportunity to turn from our sins.  He has given us the Words of God to call those around us to turn from their sin.  Daniel 4 serves as a reminder that the judgment of God will not tarry indefinitely.  Judgment came upon Nebuchadnezzar when he did not expect it.  In the end times, judgment will come from God and it will come swiftly and unexpectedly.

Christian brothers and sisters, turn from your sin.  Repent.  Humble yourself before the Lord.  Don’t wait until God Himself has to humble you.  Don’t wait for His judgment to fall.  We need to stop boasting in our own greatness and recognize that all we have are gifts from God.  Be kind to the oppressed.  Serve people.  Don’t remain comfortable until God has to afflict you.  Don’t’ remain prideful until God’s judgment comes near.  Humble yourself.  Do it now.  Set your affections on Him.

Lord Jesus it is in You I place my trust.  I pray as John the Baptist did… that I would decrease, and that You would increase.  Lord all I have is from You and in You.  Forgive me for living as if what I have and who I am is a result of my actions.  In the name of Jesus Christ, amen. 

Ty Tamasaka is an author who hold a Master of Arts Degree from Pacific Rim Christian University in Christian Ministry  He is a Bible teacher who loves to encourage people to enjoy Jesus’ grace and extend His Kingdom. Ty just released his new book More than a Conqueror: 5 Pathways to Personal Revival.    

Leave a Reply

