DARING TO MAKE A STAND – A BIBLE STUDY OF DANIEL CHAPTERS 1-6 – PART 7

3 Keys to Successful Ministry – Part III

images-1

KEY 3

3 – Daniel gave full credit to God.

26 The king asked Daniel (also called Belteshazzar), “Are you able to tell me what I saw in my dream and interpret it?”

27 Daniel replied, “No wise man, enchanter, magician or diviner can explain to the king the mystery he has asked about, 28 but there is a God in heaven who reveals mysteries. He has shown King Nebuchadnezzar what will happen in days to come.”  Daniel 2:26- 28 NIV

When King Nebuchadnezzar spoke to Daniel it would have been easy for Daniel to take credit for his gifts.  Daniel could have received the rubs from the king and had people marvel at his great gifts and connection with God.  He didn’t do that.  Instead, Daniel gave credit to God for the understanding and interpretation of the dream.

If anyone is interested in being involved in serving the Lord, it is important to know this… give credit to God.  If you want to serve God well, don’t take credit for what God has done.  Don’t draw attention to yourself.  Point the attention to the Savior.  Give God the glory.  Give God the credit for His work.  Understand there is a God in Heaven who reveals secrets… and it’s not you.

When God does something great in your life, are you quick to give credit to God or do you take the credit for it?  How are you doing at giving full credit to God?  It’s an honest question.  As I write this devotion, I realize that there are far too many times I take far too much credit for blessings in my life.  I attribute blessings to my own skills, discipline, timing, and connections.  I realize this is an area I am desperately lacking in.

I need to learn to give God the credit for more in my life… far more.  Do I give Him credit for my job?  Do I give Him credit for my skills?  Do I give Him credit for the family I have?  Do I give Him credit for the next breath I take?    

Here’s a great thought…. If I give God the credit for more in my life, when things go south, I don’t have to take the blame!  I don’t need to prove myself to people because God gets the credit.   If I quit taking the credit for everything, I can also quit taking the blame.  That sounds like great news!

Lord my heart is so prideful and arrogant that there are so many times I don’t even recognize it.  Forgive me the many times I have taken too much credit.  Lord help me to decrease my self-sufficiency and increase my gratitude to You.  Less of me… more of You… in the name of Jesus Christ, amen. 

Ty Tamasaka is an author who hold a Master of Arts Degree from Pacific Rim Christian University in Christian Ministry  He is a Bible teacher who loves to encourage people to enjoy Jesus’ grace and extend His Kingdom. Ty just released his new book More than a Conqueror: 5 Pathways to Personal Revival.    

Leave a Reply

