Loving the People Around You Philippians 4

Loving the People Around You

href=”https://tytamasaka.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/20130306-174512.jpg”>20130306-174512.jpg

<a

“20 To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen.
21 Greet all God’s people in Christ Jesus. The brothers and sisters who are with me send greetings. 22 All God’s people here send you greetings, especially those who belong to Caesar’s household.
23 The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit. Amen.”
Philippians 4:20-23 NIV

In ancient times, greetings were common in letters, but interestingly, Paul sends greetings at the close of Philippians from “all God’s people here,” and “especially those who belong to Caesar’s household.” When he mentions Caesar’s household, Paul could be referring to anyone in the Roman civil service that was directly dependent on Caesar (which included his slaves and servants), or more likely the Praetorian Guard that monitored him.

In light of Philippians 1:12-13, it seems that Paul is more likely referring to the Praetorian Guard. “12 Now I want you to know, brothers and sisters,[b] that what has happened to me has actually served to advance the gospel. 13 As a result, it has become clear throughout the whole palace guard[c] and to everyone else that I am in chains for Christ.” Philippians 1:12-13

If Paul was in Rome as he wrote the letter to the Philippians church, this reflects that anyone who guarded him or had contact with him was exposed to and influenced by his teachings. Paul was committed to sharing the Gospel regardless of the situations he found himself to be in. He didn’t wait only for ideal situations to share the Gospel. Whether he was free or in prison, Paul proclaimed Jesus.

What about you? This passage convicts me because I hold my tongue more often than I’d like to admit. This passage reminds me of the great importance of sharing the Gospel regardless of where I find myself and whom I find myself with.

I pray for the boldness of Paul to be with me. I pray Holy Spirit that You empower me with the boldness and passion that Paul had for the advancing of the Gospel anywhere I find myself. In the strong name of Jesus Christ I pray, amen.

Thanks for joining me through this Bible Study through Philippians. Hope you have been inspired and encouraged. Coming next is a journey through the Song of Songs and learning How to Create a Passionate Marriage. It will be intense and fun.

20130306-174521.jpg

Leave a Reply

