2 Forces at Work at the Potter’s House – Jeremiah 18

20121016-214637.jpg

2 Forces at Work at the Potter’s House – Jeremiah 18

This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the Lord: 2 “Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.” 3 So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel. 4 But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him.” Jeremiah 18:1-4 NIV

Last time we learned that when we want to hear a message from the Lord, we need to first be walking in obedience to what He already has before us. If we want to hear the message from the Lord in verse 5, we must be obedient to the Lord in verse 2.

In this devotion, we begin to see the message that the Lord was going to reveal to Jeremiah. At the Potter’s house, Jeremiah begins to see the message the Lord had for him. He sees that there were two main forces at work at the Potter’s house.

1 – The desire and intent of the Potter. When a potter works on forming his pot, he knows before he even begins what his desire and intent is. If you were to ask a potter what he is working on before he begins, he already knows what he is making. He knows his desire for the pot and he knows the intent he has. He already knows what the finished product is going to be. He is not simply creating it as he goes. He has a clear purpose for the work he is performing. Before a Potter touches the clay, he already has a clear vision of what he wants the clay to become. By the time, he touches the clay, he is creating on the outside what he has already completed on the inside.

When God works on the life of a believer, He knows, before He even puts His hands on us, what He wants us to become. Before He even begins working in our lives, He knows the desire and intent He has. He already knows the purposes He has, what He desires, and what His intent is. By the time He puts His hand upon us, He is creating on the outside, what He has already seen and completed on the inside.

2 – The readiness of the clay. The truth be told, clay is nothing but worthless dust. Pure and simple, it is mud. I couldn’t do much with mud. Most people can’t do much with mud. Some people, however, can do great and awesome things with mud.

Today, (August 27, 2012) I looked up on the internet some clay pots that were crafted by master potters. I was surprised to see that you can find clay pots that sell for $1,000,000, from the Ming Dynasty. The value in these clay pots and vessels are not found in the clay or dirt itself, but rather in the skilled work that the master potter pours into it.

It is important to know that the calling of clay is NOT to understand the desire and intent of the potter, though the potter always knows the readiness of the clay. So often in life, we want to know what God wants to do in and through our lives. We find it so important to understand what God is doing in our lives that we sometimes feel we can demand that God tell us the outcome of life.

I am by no means an expert potter, nor have I been around many potters. Still, I have never seen a potter stoop down to ask the clay permission to touch it. I have never seen or heard of a master potter taking the time to explain the process to the clay of what he intended to make of it and how he intended to accomplish it.

It is important to know that the journey of a potter and his clay is not a journey of understanding, but it is a journey of trust. Jeremiah 29:11. God does not owe us an explanation for what He is doing in your life and mine. He requires trust. We know that His desire and intent is good and because of that we must remain willing and ready to be used by Him.

Lord You have made it clear that Your intentions toward me are good. I know that the value in me comes from Your hand upon me. I am ready. Mold me. Make me. Use me. Amen.

3 thoughts on “2 Forces at Work at the Potter’s House – Jeremiah 18

  1. I was struggling with this question cos I’m worried about some serious upcoming event facing a court case of foreclosure. I wanted God to show me the future and He answered me through you. I must trust Him. Thank you

Leave a Reply

