It starts with me! – 1 Peter 4

 

It starts with me!

“For the time has come for the judgement to begin at the house of God; and if it begins with us first, what will be the end of those who do not obey the gospel of God?”

1 Peter 4:17-18

It is easy to be a Pharisee and simply instruct others on following the gospel. It is easy to complain about a lack of prayer and 10 commandments in schools, abortion in society, domestic partnerships, and increasing drug use. Peter understood that. Before Jesus crucifixion, Peter was quick to agree that others may fall away from Jesus, but stated that he would never fall away. Yet he did. He was quick to step out of the boat in faith, and just as quick to sink in the waters below. He knew how easy it was to judge others, but Peter had grown. An older, more humble and mature Peter reminds me where God’s judgment ought to begin. It’s not in Hollywood, in the government, in the schools, or on television channels. Instead, Peter says, “The time has come for judgment to begin at the house of God..”

 

Peter reminds me that before the church can change the world, Christ needs to change the church. Before Christ can change the church, Jesus needs to change me.

 

It has been said that a revival does not happen when the people out there (in the world) begin to act like us in here (in the church), but when we in here, begin to live like Jesus, out there. In other words, if a great flame for God will sweep this land, it does not start as a great fire, but as a small spark. It begins with me!

 

What I want to see God doing around me, must happen in me first. I long to see…

 

People more passionate about Christ. I must be more passionate myself.

 

Hearts more open to Him. My heart must be more open to the needs of others.

 

Moral excellence around me. I must be morally excellent.

 

Lord change me, that I may bring change to others. Renew me that I may bring renewal to others. Let it begin with me Lord. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

