Don’t Put God First in Your Life! – Deuteronomy 7-8

Don’t Put God First in Your Life!

1 When the LORD your God brings you into the land you are entering to possess and drives out before you many nations—the Hittites, Girgashites, Amorites, Canaanites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites, seven nations larger and stronger than you— 2 and when the LORD your God has delivered them over to you and you have defeated them, then you must destroy them totally.[

a] Make no treaty with them, and show them no mercy. 3 Do not intermarry with them. Do not give your daughters to their sons or take their daughters for your sons, 4 for they will turn your children away from following me to serve other gods, and the LORD’s anger will burn against you and will quickly destroy you. 5 This is what you are to do to them: Break down their altars, smash their sacred stones, cut down their Asherah poles[b] and burn their idols in the fire. 6For you are a people holy to the LORD your God. The LORD your God has chosen you out of all the peoples on the face of the earth to be his people, his treasured possession.

 7 The LORD did not set his affection on you and choose you because you were more numerous than other peoples, for you were the fewest of all peoples. 8 But it was because the LORD loved you and kept the oath he swore to your ancestors that he brought you out with a mighty hand and redeemed you from the land of slavery, from the power of Pharaoh king of Egypt. 9 Know therefore that the LORD your God is God; he is the faithful God, keeping his covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love him and keep his commandments. 10 But

   those who hate him he will repay to their face by destruction;
   he will not be slow to repay to their face those who hate him.

 11 Therefore, take care to follow the commands, decrees and laws I give you today.

 12 If you pay attention to these laws and are careful to follow them, then the LORD your God will keep his covenant of love with you, as he swore to your ancestors.”

Deuteronomy 7:1-13 NIV

The lesson that Moses is teaching Israel in Deuteronomy is that when they made a choice to follow God, they would need to make a commitment to destroy any other options.

40 years earlier, Israel had witnessed the Promised Land, but they weren’t willing to pay the price to occupy. The result was a 40 year journey through the wilderness where they would learn to be warriors for God and Promised Land people. Now, 40 years later, they are confronted with the same decision they needed to make earlier. “Are you willing to pay the price to enter into God’s best for your life now?”

As Israel peers over into the Promised Land, they needed to make a decisive choice. Either they would enter God’s promises for them, or they would compromise and forfeit their inheritance. Israel needed to decide if they were willing to pay the price to walk in His promises and presence.

God has paid the price for my salvation when Jesus went to the cross. I pay the price for my discipleship when I am fully obedient to His word. God paid the price to restore my soul. I pay the price to walk in His promises and presence.

God’s people have long had the problem of refusing to pay the price to walk in His blessings. Judas traded God’s presence for 30 pieces of silver. Esau traded his God given birthright and blessing for a bowl of stew. Saul gave up his God given anointing as the King, to try and steal the popularity of David. Samson gave up his God given strength and power to be with a woman who never really cared for him.

In Deuteronomy, God, through Moses, challenges Israel to have an extreme faith that does not compromise and does not tolerate sin in their camp. Don’t tolerate relationships that would cause your heart to stray from God. Don’t tolerate false gods in your land.

Perhaps Deuteronomy 8 clarifies the need to live out an extreme faith.

1 Be careful to follow every command I am giving you today, so that you may live and increase and may enter and possess the land the LORD promised on oath to your ancestors. 2 Remember how the LORD your God led you all the way in the wilderness these forty years, to humble and test you in order to know what was in your heart, whether or not you would keep his commands. 3 He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your ancestors had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD. 4 Your clothes did not wear out and your feet did not swell during these forty years. 5 Know then in your heart that as a man disciplines his son, so the LORD your God disciplines you.”

Deuteronomy 8:1-5

This shows me that I must live an extreme faith, if I want to enjoy the extreme blessings of the hand of God upon my life, and experience His extreme promises. God desires not only that I make the decision to follow Him, but also that I make the commitment to forsake everything else and to not look back and to be all in for Him.

 

I am not to place God first in my life. He wants to be my all and my everything!

 

When I got married to Laura, I didn’t just make a commitment to her, but I also made a commitment to forsaking all others for her. She would not be happy if I said, “Hey Laura, I am totally committed to you. You are my number one! But, Sally here, is my number two. I’ll give you my attention first, then I’ll give some to Sally!” Laura would shoot me! Why? She doesn’t want me to put her first, and have others be second, third, and fourth! She wants to be my all!

 

Again, I must not place God first in my life! God doesn’t want to be number one in my life. He wants to be my all and my everything!

 

To live in Gods’ anointing, I must not make God first. I must make Him be my everything!

Consume me Lord. Don’t be first. Be my all. I forsake all else for You. Amen.

One thought on “Don’t Put God First in Your Life! – Deuteronomy 7-8

  1. So how does one make God ALL in our lives? Is it talking about God? What must we do today? I hope you don’t think we would be justified to do anyone harm physically or mentally, because we judge them against God. That had it’s appropriateness for the Moses experiment. Jesus said to seek agreement with one’s advasaries and if apprehended turn the other cheek because God would see our faith and take possession of our Soul body. Also Didn’t Jesus say to “watch” for his return? Are you watching? And what does watching entail. Can one only read the bible and still be watching? Even those who had prepared themselves by choosign to regain their virtinity could not trust they would be ready when the bridegroom came. They had to prepare by purchasing the oil that kept the flame to see God when He showed up before them. Those that counted themselves first to see, being the relgious affiliated, were last to see. It’s not their fault whether first or last. What’s important is that they are lining up to be included in God’s kingdom and that can only be accomplished by asking, seeking, knocking on doors, petitioning our Heavenly Father as Jesus taught us to pray to the FAther and that must include turnign over every stone to find what’s true and the clues to who and how the Kingodm of God will manifest to those with eyes to see and ears to hear. Yes, it will be evident to all, but all will not think about what they see in the same way unless they have prepared and part of preparation is examining all the seemingly false claims and doing so thoroughy. I don’t think you’ve ever asked me any questions or presented any scriptural challenges to Ti and Do’s information. I just spent an hour examining a claim of a Brazilian as the return of Jesus and gave many scriptural based responses to things that this person supposedly says and I will go to their web site as well. This way I can learn from it even if it’s learning how Luciferians work to twist and hid and deceit the real deal. You are spending all this time on these easy to embrace old lessons of the Old Testement. Are you a lover of Jesus or not. If so, why not list all the sayings he told us to KEEP and what we must mimic to be included on his team. I will debate you line for line on all the prophecies of the Jesus return if you are willing. I don’t mean to be offensive in this regard, but I don’t know what other way I can get some who fear really looking good at Ti and Do to do so. It does nothing for me to have they look. It’s simply my task to keep it before people to make their individuals decisions for or against.

Leave a Reply

