A Continual Faith in God – Daniel 6

20110925-071552.jpg

(Wanted to put a picture of a lion for Daniel’s lion’s den, but this tiger was too cool to pass up!!!)

 

A Continual Faith in God

“13 Then they said to the king, “Daniel, who is one of the exiles from Judah, pays no attention to you, Your Majesty, or to the decree you put in writing. He still prays three times a day.” 14 When the king heard this, he was greatly distressed; he was determined to rescue Daniel and made every effort until sundown to save him.

15 Then the men went as a group to King Darius and said to him, “Remember, Your Majesty, that according to the law of the Medes and Persians no decree or edict that the king issues can be changed.”

16 So the king gave the order, and they brought Daniel and threw him into the lions’ den. The king said to Daniel, “May your God, whom you serve continually, rescue you!”

17 A stone was brought and placed over the mouth of the den, and the king sealed it with his own signet ring and with the rings of his nobles, so that Daniel’s situation might not be changed. 18 Then the king returned to his palace and spent the night without eating and without any entertainment being brought to him. And he could not sleep.

19 At the first light of dawn, the king got up and hurried to the lions’ den. 20 When he came near the den, he called to Daniel in an anguished voice, “Daniel, servant of the living God, has your God, whom you serve continually, been able to rescue you from the lions?”

21 Daniel answered, “May the king live forever! 22 My God sent his angel, and he shut the mouths of the lions. They have not hurt me, because I was found innocent in his sight. Nor have I ever done any wrong before you, Your Majesty.”

23 The king was overjoyed and gave orders to lift Daniel out of the den. And when Daniel was lifted from the den, no wound was found on him, because he had trusted in his God.

24 At the king’s command, the men who had falsely accused Daniel were brought in and thrown into the lions’ den, along with their wives and children. And before they reached the floor of the den, the lions overpowered them and crushed all their bones.” Daniel 6:13-24 NIV

Verse 16 of Daniel 6 is the key to Daniel’s amazing testimony. While most believers “occasionally” or “seldom” display godly character and wisdom, Daniel was known for his “continual” godly character before God and others.

When I live a life centered on God, I can leave circumstances the One in whom I trust. This is often a problem for me as I am used to getting things quick. Recently I wanted to buy Thor in 3d blu ray disc. It was out of stock at Walmart in Pearl City. I checked Target, Walmart in town, Royal Kunia, Best Buy in town, Best Buy in Aiea, K-Mart, and then I checked if it came into the Pearl City store. Since it had not come in and I could not wait for more than 7 days, I ordered it from Amazon.com! Talk about impatient!

As a consumer and as a worker, I like things done, fast and when I want it done. There are many times in my life that God does not work on my timeframe and I have a tendency to push to make things happen regardless of whether it is His timing or not. I find that I am often obedient to God only when it is convenient for me rather than on a continual basis.

While I often find myself complaining that I don’t have enough time to do my devotions or to spend time in prayer with Jesus. I am amazed, stunned, and humbled that Daniel, though he was a governor and in charge of many things and people, still carved out three times per day to devote to spending time with God. Not only that, but he was caught by those who conspired against him because he was so consistent in those precious times with the Lord!

Daniel teaches me that in order to expect good fruit from the Lord on a continual basis I must be a Christ-follower both continually and habitually. While an occasional faith may produce occasional fruit a continual faith will produce continual fruit.

Daniel shows me that the power of God sent an angel to protect him in the lion’s den in response to a prayer of faith coming from a consistent, abiding walk with God. I need to be in a consistent, abiding walk with God as well.

This seems to be the overarching theme in the book of Daniel. God’s people stand firm and consistent in their convictions and faith. God honors and protects them. The testimony of God working the lives of those who stand on their convictions makes the ungodly see and tell of the greatness of God. God used the situations of God’s people as a set up to save others!

· Daniel and his friends (Daniel 1:20) stand firm in their dietary laws and Nebuchadnezzar sees the fruit of it.

· Daniel stands firm in the faith and interprets Nebuchadnezzar’s dream and the king honors Daniel and his God (Daniel 2:46-47).

· Shadrach, Meschach, and Abednego stand firm and give only glory to God (Daniel 3:28-30)

· Daniel tells Nebuchadnezzar the truth and gives glory to God (Daniel 4:34-37)

· Daniel holds firm to his convictions to pray only to God and is delivered from the lion’s den (Daniel 6:13-24).

Throughout this entire book, Daniel teaches that when we stand firm in our godly convictions, honor God, and live out a consistent faith, even when it costs us, others will see the testimony of Him at work and will be impressed and impacted by Him.

Holy Spirit I understand that my situations are often a set up to save others. Lord I choose to stand firm and have a continuous faith in You. Use my testimony as a tool to save others. Amen.

Leave a Reply

