Stunned and Dazed by My Father! – Revelation 19

Stunned and Dazed by My Father

“11I saw heaven standing open and there before me was a white horse, whose rider is called Faithful and True. With justice he judges and makes war. 12His eyes are like blazing fire, and on his head are many crowns. He has a name written on him that no one knows but he himself. 13He is dressed in a robe dipped in blood, and his name is the Word of God. 14The armies of heaven were following him, riding on white horses and dressed in fine linen, white and clean. 15Out of his mouth comes a sharp sword with which to strike down the nations. “He will rule them with an iron scepter.”[a] He treads the winepress of the fury of the wrath of God Almighty. 16On his robe and on his thigh he has this name written: KING OF KINGS AND LORD OF LORDS.” Revelation 19:11-16 NIV

I recently heard a story about Diane Disney, the daughter of Walt Disney, and how it was living as the daughter of Walt Disney. Diane says that her dad was a normal dad. She says that he tried as hard as he could, to be a normal dad. She says that when he came home from work, he’d do her homework with her, took her to school every day, and was just a normal dad in every way.

She says that when she was five, she went to Kindergarten and she had no clue about who her dad really was. Diane says that she discovered it the first day of Kindergarten when she sat in the middle of the room with all the students when they started introducing themselves. When it was her turn, she introduced herself as Diane Disney, and the whole class went crazy.

The teacher calmed the class down and asked Diane to tell her name again. Diane said, “My name is Diane Disney”, and the whole class went nuts again. The teacher then asked what her dad’s name was and she said, “It’s Walter.”

The teacher explained to Diane that the class was so excited because her dad was Walt Disney! Diane said, “Yeah, my dad is Walter Disney.”

The teacher then said, “No, your dad is Walt Disney. Like, Disneyland, Disney. Like Mickey Mouse Club, Disney! That’s your dad!”

Diane said, “I had no idea!” She says that when she went home that day, she tore the newspaper out of his hand, put her little hands on her little hips and said, “You never told me you were Walt Disney.”

Then she said, “I walked around dazed for a month, stunned by who my father was.”

As I read Revelation 19 today, I cannot help but think that just as Diane was dazed and stunned when she recognized who her father was, I should be dazed and stunned about who my Father in Heaven is. I should be should be dazed for a lifetime and stunned by knowing that Jesus is my father!

Revelation 19:11-16 gives a graphic description of Jesus. “11I saw heaven standing open and there before me was a white horse, whose rider is called Faithful and True. With justice he judges and makes war. 12His eyes are like blazing fire, and on his head are many crowns. He has a name written on him that no one knows but he himself. 13He is dressed in a robe dipped in blood, and his name is the Word of God. 14The armies of heaven were following him, riding on white horses and dressed in fine linen, white and clean. 15Out of his mouth comes a sharp sword with which to strike down the nations. “He will rule them with an iron scepter.”[a] He treads the winepress of the fury of the wrath of God Almighty. 16On his robe and on his thigh he has this name written: KING OF KINGS AND LORD OF LORDS.”

Revelation gives amazing imagery to who Jesus is. Jesus is revealed as a triumphant warrior! He is a judge and a king crowned with many crowns! He is a warrior and a commander whose eyes are like a blazing fire! He is the One who leads the armies of Heaven into battle!

The God who is the Creator of the Heavens and Earth and the One who made more stars than we could count, is the same God who says in Matthew 28:10-20, “I am with you always even to the end of the age.”

The same God who is marked as the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords, is the same One who God who loved me so much that He gave His only begotten Son.

Lord Jesus I am in awe and wonder of who You are once again and I am amazed that You chose me. You are my Father and I stand amazed at You. In Your awesome Name Lord Jesus; Amen.

Leave a Reply

