The Test of Affection – Walking the Christian Walk, 1 Corinthians 6

 

The Test of Affection – Walking the Christian Walk

 

Go to fullsize image

 

9 Don’t you realize that those who do wrong will not inherit the Kingdom of God? Don’t fool yourselves. Those who indulge in sexual sin, or who worship idols, or commit adultery, or are male prostitutes, or practice homosexuality, 10 or are thieves, or greedy people, or drunkards, or are abusive, or cheat people—none of these will inherit the Kingdom of God. 11 Some of you were once like that. But you were cleansed; you were made holy; you were made right with God by calling on the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.”

1 Corinthians 6:9-11 NLT

Those verses don’t sound so bad for me, but when I begin to look at them in within the context of my life and of today’s culture things begin to look a bit different. It is easy for me to use these standards to put on other people, but when I use them and look in the mirror, things look much different, and uncomfortable.

9 Don’t you realize that those who do wrong will not inherit the Kingdom of God? Don’t fool yourselves. Those who indulge in sexual sin

(Including premarital sex, extra-martial sex, or as Jesus says, if they even lust after someone in their hearts), or who worship idols (Idols in the Old Testament were often times images of gods they worshipped. Idols today that many people bow down to are whatever we place in our lives before God like work, money, the need for a bigger home, a better job, or a more attractive spouse) , or commit adultery (Having sex with someone outside of your marriage), or are male prostitutes (ok), or practice homosexuality (Notice that this is a sin, but it cannot be separated from all the other sin the scripture talks about too), 10 or are thieves (Ever stole anything? ANYTHING? I thought so.), or greedy people (Have you ever been a greedy person? Ever? I thought so.), or drunkards, or are abusive, or cheat people—none of these will inherit the Kingdom of God. 11 (Here is the good news in these verses!) Some of you were once like that. But you were cleansed; you were made holy; you were made right with God by calling on the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.”1 Corinthians 6:9-11 NLT

Paul is not saying that if we are sinners, that we cannot inherit the Kingdom of God, but he is saying that a “religious faith” CANNOT and MUST NOT be separate from our actions. A call to faith in Christ is a call to total transformation of my character, my will, my heart, and my behaviors. If I am a real follower of Christ, my affections will follow Him.

If I am really saved, I will have developed a love for God. As such, it is my love and my affection for Him that is not only a test of my salvation, but also a reflection of my belief in Him.

Lord change me from day to day. Increase my holiness and my purity. Increase my heart and desire to be close to You and to please You in Jesus’ name. Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

