2 Pre-requisites for Having a Supernatural Ministry – Acts14

20110719-085355.jpg

2 Pre-Requisites for Having a Supernatural Ministry

“The same thing happened in Iconium.* Paul and Barnabas went to the Jewish synagogue and preached with such power that a great number of both Jews and Greeks became believers. 2 Some of the Jews, however, spurned God’s message and poisoned the minds of the Gentiles against Paul and Barnabas. 3 But the apostles stayed there a long time, preaching boldly about the grace of the Lord. And the Lord proved their message was true by giving them power to do miraculous signs and wonders. 4 But the people of the town were divided in their opinion about them. Some sided with the Jews, and some with the apostles.”. Acts 14:1-4 NLT

Even when the early Apostles went out to share God’s Word, they were met with great resistance. This passage shows me that whenever God desires to do something great among His people, there will be great opposition, and it will often come from the most religious people. I find it amazing that the greatest opposition for Paul and Barnabas did not come from the pagans or worshippers of false God’s. Their greatest opposition came from God’s very own Jews!

This shows me that when others will be reached for the Kingdom, there is a price to pay. There will always be great opposition, and it often originates from within the church. I have found, like Paul and Barnabas, that when a church makes changes to become more outwardly focused or to make an effort to reach new people, the greatest resistance comes from those who are not willing to change. In order for God to move with Paul and Barnabas, they needed to be empowered by tho Holy Spirit and they needed a touch of the supernatural in their ministry.

It is interesting that the biblical method shown here, for the Apostles to gain power to do miraculous signs and wonders, and to have a supernatural touch on their ministry required two things. I find it encouraging that ANYONE who serves Jesus in the ministry can apply these pre-requisites to a supernatural ministry.

1 – They stayed there a long time.

There will always be quitting pouts to break through I’m sure Paul and Barnabas faced discouragement like any other minister has. I’m sure that there were times they came across where quitting and going somewhere else seemed to make most sense, but they persevered

I wonder how many times God’s people today miss the miraculous because they fail to simply “stay there a long time”. I wonder how many times I have missed the supernatural because I have chosen to leave a ministry or a church too soon in hopes of “trying something new” or because I wasn’t “comfortable” where I was. Paul and Barnabas teach me that a pre-requisite for a supernatural ministry is to not quit and to be there for a long time.

Of course there are times to move as both Paul and Barnabas were eventually called to move on, but they needed to be sure that they moved when God led them to, and NOT because they were tired or discouraged.

2 – They preached boldly about the grace of the Lord.

I need to preach. Some people choose not to preach. They feel that their relationship with God is “personal” and should not be mentioned to others for fear of offending others. In order to enjoy a supernatural ministry, I need to be preaching. I need to be sharing the Gospel, but not only that.

I need to be preaching boldly Some people preach timidly about the grace of God. They say they will share the Gospel by “living a good life and by being an example to others”. Some preach timidly the grace of the Lord by waiting only until others ask them about their faith. To walk in a supernatural ministry, I need to be unashamed of the Gospel, and preach boldly, but not only that.

I need to be preaching boldly about the grace of the Lord. Some people preach boldly the judgement of God, the sin of mankind, or the poor state of politics and the government. Acts teaches me that I need to be preaching boldly about the grace of the Lord.

In order to walk in the supernatural power God has for me, I need to be a person who perseveres in the ministry that. god has given me, and I need to be uncompromising with the essays He has given me.

Lord Jesus, forgive the many times that I have left before I should have. Give me the knowledge to know Your will, and the courage and power to carry it out. Amen,

Leave a Reply

