Simple, Heartfelt, Prayer

20110629-041936.jpg

1 Hear me, LORD, and answer me,
for I am poor and needy.
2 Guard my life, for I am faithful to you;
save your servant who trusts in you.
You are my God; 3 have mercy on me, Lord,
for I call to you all day long.
4 Bring joy to your servant, Lord,
for I put my trust in you.

5 You, Lord, are forgiving and good,
abounding in love to all who call to you.
6 Hear my prayer, LORD;
listen to my cry for mercy.
7 When I am in distress, I call to you,
because you answer me.

8 Among the gods there is none like you, Lord;
no deeds can compare with yours.
9 All the nations you have made
will come and worship before you, Lord;
they will bring glory to your name.
10 For you are great and do marvelous deeds;
you alone are God.

Psalms 86:1-10

Yesterday as we sat waiting for Laura to come out of part 1 of her brain surgery, my father in law and I overheard another family alas in the waiting room. A husband waiting for his wife to come from surgery to remove her uterus due to cancer.

I had been praying for my wife for awhile and had gathered many others to lift her up in prayer too. After several uncomfortable hours of waiting and hoping, the surgeon came out and told us that Laura’s surgery went well. It was a burden lifted off our shoulders knowing that Laura was going to be ok.

Not 5 minutes after we got our news, I overheard the family sitting across from us. The husband, whose name I did not catch, told his in-laws that the surgeon came out and told him that the had opened up his wife for surgery, then seeing the large amounts of cancer that had spread, closed her back up and basically said to make her comfortable at home because she had 2 months to live. This large local man cried for his wife. So did his family. So did I. I immediately went to them, asked if I could pray for her (her name is Julia if you could offer a prayer for her and her family too) and the family.

I prayed for the Holy Spirit to bring comfort. I prayed for supernatural healing. I prayed that the hand of God Himself would be upon them all in this challenging time. Tears were shed. I hope that some comfort was given. We parted ways. No miraculous healing. No parting of the waters. No flashing lights. Nothing glamorous.

I felt helpless, wondering if God heard our prayers. I felt desperate seeing a husband pleading for his wife’s life. I think I understood the heart of David’s Psalm 86. It is in these verses that David offers a prayer with deep emotions, petitions to God, and pleas for help. No formula for prayer here. No fancy steps or procedures. Just prayer. Raw, unscripted, unformulated, prayer. No eloquence. Nothing special or fancy. Nothing but us and the Holy Spirit. Through prayer, I think I am learning that it is less about me pleading my case before Him, and much more about me begging Him for His continued presence and strength.

Holy Spirit, I pray for Your daughter Julia. May Your Spirit be with her and her family in this difficult season. Be there with them. Minister to them. Use this time as a testimony where You will be glorified. Amen.

20110629-041948.jpg

2 thoughts on “Simple, Heartfelt, Prayer

  1. My Father in law ran into Julia’s husband a few days ago. He said that in the following days, they found the cancer to be nowhere near as bad as the surgeon had reported. Thank you Jesus. God is still at work.

Leave a Reply

