Getting Rid of the Crap

Getting rid of the crap!

“12 Designate a place outside the camp where you can go to relieve yourself. 13 As part of your equipment have something to dig with, and when you relieve yourself, dig a hole and cover up your excrement. 14 For the LORD your God moves about in your camp to protect you and to deliver your enemies to you. Your camp must be holy, so that he will not see among you anything indecent and turn away from you.”  Deuteronomy 23:12-14 NIV

I recall when Josiah and Gracie were younger as young parents, Laura and I were constantly changing diapers.  The kids were fun to be with, but diapers In order for our kids to do something, we needed to clean them so they didn’t have their dodo or “crap” all over them.

I wonder if that is what God does in my life as well. There are times that I feel stuck and unable to move forward in life. I wonder if that is a sign that there is some crap that I need to get rid of before He can do something new in my life.

Israel in Deuteronomy 23, was ordered by God to literally “get rid of the crap” from their campsite. First Moses says, “when you relieve yourself, dig a hole and cover up your excrement…” He goes on to tell them, “Your camp must be holy, so that he will not see among you anything indecent and turn away from you.” In other words, Moses was teaching that if I want to live a holy life, I need to get rid of the crap in my life!

A question that I need to ask myself is this, “Is there something in my life that may be a bad habit or an “issue” that God would flat out call, “crap?” If that is the case, I wonder if I get stuck at times with God because He is simply waiting for me to get it out of my life.

What is crap anyway?  It is the stuff that our body has deemed wasteful and does not need.  If God is asking me to get rid of something or to quit something, then He knows that what He’s calling me to get rid of is wasteful and I do not need it!

From God’s point of view sin is crap!  This crap is what caused Jesus to have to give His life on the cross. It’s the grossest thing in His sight and instead of us forming groups in the church to talk about the crap in our lives and affirm our crappiness, I think Jesus would be much more pleased if we confessed our crap, repented of it, flushed it, and moved on!

Lord forgive the times I have held too tightly to the crap in my life. Soften my heart to let go of my junk to embrace Your best. Amen.

Leave a Reply

