Growing as a Self-Feeder

Growing as a Self-Feeder

 

1 Listen, my sons, to a father’s instruction;
   pay attention and gain understanding.
2 I give you sound learning,
   so do not forsake my teaching.
3 For I too was a son to my father,
   still tender, and cherished by my mother.
4 Then he taught me, and he said to me,
   “Take hold of my words with all your heart;
   keep my commands, and you will live.
5 Get wisdom, get understanding;
   do not forget my words or turn away from them.
6 Do not forsake wisdom, and she will protect you;
   love her, and she will watch over you.
7 The beginning of wisdom is this: Get[a] wisdom.
   Though it cost all you have,[b] get understanding.
8 Cherish her, and she will exalt you;
   embrace her, and she will honor you.
9 She will give you a garland to grace your head
   and present you with a glorious crown.”
  Proverbs 4:1-9 NIV

I’ve read about someone who took a trip toYellowstoneNational Park.  He noted that he was given a piece of paper by a park ranger at the entrance of the park with big letters highlighting a warning for park visitors.  “Do Not Feed the Bears.” 

He recalled that as he entered the park, he seen other visitors feeding the bears contrary to the instructions given.  Thinking that the people appeared to be safe enough, he questioned a park ranger about it.

The ranger told him, “Sir, you only have a small part of the picture.”  The ranger went on to describe that park personnel in the fall and winter have to carry away the bodies of dead bears that have lost their ability to fend for food for themselves in their time of need.  When harsher weather comes around they cannot survive because they have learned to rely on visitors feeding them all the time.   

In the church, there is a problem that occurs when we as well intentioned pastors, teachers, and parents continue to feed believers through church services and Sunday school, but don’t take the time to train up Christ followers to become self feeders.  Believers can easily become people who gain God’s wisdom through secondhand experiences, rather than learning to hear God speak to them directly or seek Him themselves.  

When harsh weather, challenges, and trials come in life (and of course they do come), their faith begins to starve and die because they have not learned to sustain their faith or to self feed their faith.    

In Proverbs 4, King Solomon encourages his son to be a self-feeder who will seek to gain wisdom and understanding.  He encourages his son that wisdom is to be sought after and cherished no matter the cost. 

Click here to learn to do devotions and to become a self-feeding believer.     

Lord Jesus I long to be not only to be a person who feeds my own faith with my devotions, but also one who raises others to be able to tap into Your wisdom and Your understanding as well.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Growing as a Self-Feeder

  1. good post about self sufficiency. i happen to be a park ranger and I have had to advise many people to not feed wildlife for the very reasons you cite here. i’m not really christian but i think this lesson is actually applicable to a lot of life, i’m going through a divorce right now, and I’m realizing how i am not as self sufficient in many aspects in my life that I thought previous. anyway, thanks.

Leave a Reply

