Show Me Your Glory – Again!!!

A Hunger to Know God More – Show me Your Glory again, Lord

 

 

12 Moses said to the LORD, “You have been telling me, ‘Lead these people,’ but you have not let me know whom you will send with me. You have said, ‘I know you by name and you have found favor with me.’ 13 If you are pleased with me, teach me your ways so I may know you and continue to find favor with you. Remember that this nation is your people.”

 14 The LORD replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

 15 Then Moses said to him, “If your Presence does not go with us, do not send us up from here. 16 How will anyone know that you are pleased with me and with your people unless you go with us? What else will distinguish me and your people from all the other people on the face of the earth?”

 17 And the LORD said to Moses, “I will do the very thing you have asked, because I am pleased with you and I know you by name.”

 18 Then Moses said, “Now show me your glory.”

 19 And the LORD said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the LORD, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion. 20 But,” he said, “you cannot see my face, for no one may see me and live.”

 21 Then the LORD said, “There is a place near me where you may stand on a rock. 22 When my glory passes by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by. 23 Then I will remove my hand and you will see my back; but my face must not be seen.”  Exodus 33:12-23 NIV

Moses was in the midst of a revival in God’s people.  They had turned away from God in order to worship a golden calf, went on to face judgment for their sin, and were now repenting and turning back to Him. 

Moses’ as the leader of God’s people had a desire for more than God’s blessing.  His desire was for more than God’s presence.  His desire was for more of God.  In the midst of all of this turmoil, Moses prayed, “Now show me your glory.” 

Whatever Moses had experienced of God, he wanted, yearned for, and longed for more.  More Moses?  Really?  After all, Moses had experienced God speak to him directly through the burning bush.  He had seen the 10 plagues fall upon Egypt.  Moses was there during the first Passover, when God made water come out from the rock in Mara and he saw manna came down from heaven.  Moses was in the midst of God when the pillar of fire came to protect them and when God parted the Red Sea.  Really Moses, how much more of God’s glory do you need to see?   

“Now show me your glory” Moses says.  Hadn’t he already seen God’s glory?  Of course he had, but that didn’t satisfy Moses!  That is the problem with many believers.  We become satisfied with what we have already seen and already experienced from and of God, and we become stagnant.  A true benchmark for spiritual growth in the life of the believer is when we have, like Moses did, an insatiable hunger and thirst for more of God.  Yes we may have already seen and heard great and awesome things from God, but IT IS NOT ENOUGH! 

I remember having that insatiable hunger and thirsting for more of God in my life as a new believer years ago when I was eager to see what God was going to do and how He was going to reveal Himself.  As I became more “seasoned” or “more mature” as a believer, I had come to recognize that I had already seen great things.  I had heard the tear jerking testimonies, bought the t-shirts, read the scriptures and the Christian books, and volunteered in the ministry.  The longer I walk with Jesus, the more I tend to think I already know of God’s glory.  I think I have already experienced what God has to offer, so I continue to volunteer week after week in the same ministry thinking that serving in the ministry is my “Christian responsibility.”  I forget that the purpose of ministry is not to fulfill my Christian duty, but to be allowed the great privilege of being a part of God’s work and putting myself in the right places where I can see MORE of his glory!  I’ve seen the movie, The Passion of the Christ, and it was not called The Boring Religious Obligation of the Christ.  To have a passion for the Christ means to always be yearning for more of Him.        

When does revival break out in a believer’s life?  When despite all that I have seen and heard, I still hunger and long for more of God!  A renewal will occur in the life of the believer when I, like Moses, being to pray to God and beg to see His glory AGAIN!  Anything I have done, seen, heard, or been a part of in the past is in the past and I need to yearn for, long for, and desire to see God’s glory AGAIN, in a new, fresh, and exciting way. 

After being a believer for many years, I find that many of my prayers are for healing for others, blessings on my family and kids, thanksgiving for my meals, salvation for friends, efforts that I organize, or protection for church leaders. 

Moses reminds me that no matter what blessings God has already given me, no matter how He has already revealed Himself to me, and no matter what miracles I have already witnessed, I must never forget to PLEAD before God to see MORE of His glory!  Have I already seen great things?  You bet!  Have I already experienced His presence in my life?  Absolutely!  IS THAT ENOUGH?  NO WAYS!  FORGET IT!  I NEED MORE OF GOD TODAY!  The minute I stop yearning for more of God, is the minute I begin to stagnate in my walk with Jesus. 

Revival in the life of the believer does not mean that I am getting more blessings from God.  It does not mean that I am more aware of His presence.  A revival is not even defined by times when God enables me to do His work more effectively.  A real revival in the life of a believer goes far beyond that.  It entails the Christ follower whose thirst and hunger for more of God cannot be quenched and cannot be satisfied.  It sparks when the believer is not satisfied with what God has already done, but longs for and yearns for more of God’s glory.  A benchmark of growth in the life of a believer is when I want to, need to, and have to experience more of God and who He is.   

Show me Your glory Lord.  Show it to me again, and again, and again, and again!  I can never get enough of You and no matter what I have seen or heard over the years, it doesn’t even scratch the surface of what You have to offer, so show me Your glory again dear Lord.  In Jesus’ name, amen. 

Leave a Reply

