The Marriage Guardian

The Marriage Guardian

 

“ 1 The serpent was the shrewdest of all the wild animals the Lord God had made. One day he asked the woman, “Did God really say you must not eat the fruit from any of the trees in the garden?”

 2 “Of course we may eat fruit from the trees in the garden,” the woman replied. 3 “It’s only the fruit from the tree in the middle of the garden that we are not allowed to eat. God said, ‘You must not eat it or even touch it; if you do, you will die.’”

 4 “You won’t die!” the serpent replied to the woman. 5 “God knows that your eyes will be opened as soon as you eat it, and you will be like God, knowing both good and evil.”

 6 The woman was convinced. She saw that the tree was beautiful and its fruit looked delicious, and she wanted the wisdom it would give her. So she took some of the fruit and ate it. Then she gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it, too. 7 At that moment their eyes were opened, and they suddenly felt shame at their nakedness. So they sewed fig leaves together to cover themselves.

 8 When the cool evening breezes were blowing, the man[a] and his wife heard the Lord God walking about in the garden. So they hid from the Lord God among the trees. 9 Then the Lord God called to the man, “Where are you?”

 10 He replied, “I heard you walking in the garden, so I hid. I was afraid because I was naked.”

 11 “Who told you that you were naked?” the Lord God asked. “Have you eaten from the tree whose fruit I commanded you not to eat?”

 12 The man replied, “It was the woman you gave me who gave me the fruit, and I ate it.” Genesis 3:1-12 NIV 

It is interesting to look back and see that the fall of man came because Adam did not stand up for his wife when the enemy was trying to entice her.  The fall came because Adam was too passive.  He was with Eve when the enemy approached her.  He was beside her when the enemy tempted her and he said nothing to intervene.  He sat idly by and let the enemy come in and attack his wife and he didn’t protect her.  As a husband, I must not be passive.  I must actively protect my wife from the attacks of the enemy.  The first sin may have been avoided if the first man stood up for his wife.  It may have been avoided if Adam took seriously what God said, stood on the word of God, and took the responsibility to lead his wife like He was supposed to be doing all along.  

Ok, ok.  Let’s come back to the scriptures.  Who sinned first?  Eve.  Who led Adam into sin?  Eve.  Here is what I want to note however. 

After Adam and Eve had sinned, they hid from God in the Garden of Eden.  When God called out to them, men need to notice to whom God called out to first.  He called the MAN first.  “Where are you?” God called directly to the MAN.  Yes, Eve was the first to eat of the fruit.  Yes, Eve was the one who gave it to Adam to eat.  Men need to know that WE are accountable for our wives and our families and we need to protect them from the enemy.  Why?  Because when the enemy attacks and takes a foothold on our families, God will call the men to be accountable for the safety and protection of our wives and kids. 

The next thing to notice is that when God confronted Adam, Adam says that he fell because of the woman that God gave him.  He tried to pass the blame. 

I cannot pass the blame to my wife.  I need to stand up and protect her from the enemy.  I need to stand up and protect her from anything that the enemy tries to throw at her. 

Adam wanted to have the authority of being the husband in the house, but he didn’t want to hold the responsibility like he should have.  Instead he tried to pass the blame to his wife. 

Today’s verse teaches me that not only do I have a God given authority in my home, but I must also be responsible for that authority.  That means if things go wrong, it is my responsibility to fight for and to protect my household.  I must not pass the blame to my wife, but rather must take the responsibility to lead my family.     

This new year, as a man of God, I must “man up” to be the husband that Jesus called me to be and to take responsibility for the direction of my family rather than passing the blame onto someone else.   

Lord Jesus, lead me to be like You in my marriage.  Help me as I choose to be aggressive in guarding and protecting my marriage.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

