But God!

But God!

“27The people of Jerusalem and their rulers did not recognize Jesus, yet in condemning him they fulfilled the words of the prophets that are read every Sabbath. 28Though they found no proper ground for a death sentence, they asked Pilate to have him executed. 29When they had carried out all that was written about him, they took him down from the tree and laid him in a tomb. 30But God raised him from the dead,”  Acts 13:27-30 NIV (emphasis mine)

I like that phrase, “But God…”  Those words remind me that God is not done yet!

Paul was explaining about Jesus being condemned to a death sentence, crucified, and ultimately executed by the people and rulers of Jerusalem.  It would have been easy for the story to end there, but thankfully, it does not.  Paul goes on to say, “But God raised him from the dead.” 

It is a great blessing that many things in life can be accompanied with those two beautiful words, “But God…” 

I have furloughs coming and my wife received a dramatic cut in pay and hours at work. 

“But God…” still provides like He always has done and always will do.

The kids get out of hand at times and parenting can just become so overwhelming.

“But God…” is still on the throne and He causes all things to work together for good to those who love Him and are called according to His purpose. 

It can be frustrating and exhausting to serve God in the church with so many people who have so many problems.  “But God…” is my strength when I am weak and He enables me to carry on.

There are so many pressures and challenges in my marriage.  “But God…” by the power of His Holy Spirit enables me to rise up to be the husband that He created me to be. 

Times may be hard today, “but God…” is giving me the strength to endure tomorrow. 

There is much that the enemy can throw at me and much that I may have to endure for my faith, “but God…” is faithful to be with me no matter what. 

 Thank You Jesus for the “But God…” moments in my life that while things appear to be going poorly, You are working things together in a way that I would not expect.  Amen. 

2 thoughts on “But God!

  1. WOW!
    Great post Ty! I love how you tied together resurrection power to our everyday life. “But God” – His infinite power over our daily dealings is a great reminder that HE has authority over it ALL.

    Thanks,
    Clint

Leave a Reply

