3 Affirmations to Give Your Kids for Christmas (and every day) – Matthew 3

3 Affirmations to Give Your Kids for Christmas (and every day)

 

“13Then Jesus came from Galilee to the Jordan to be baptized by John. 14But John tried to deter him, saying, “I need to be baptized by you, and do you come to me?”

 15Jesus replied, “Let it be so now; it is proper for us to do this to fulfill all righteousness.” Then John consented.

 16As soon as Jesus was baptized, he went up out of the water. At that moment heaven was opened, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and lighting on him. 17And a voice from heaven said, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.”  Matthew 3:13-17 NIV (emphasis mine)

I’m not sure if it is because I am a man or because I am local, but it seems that the way I relate to my friends is by firing sarcastic shots back and forth.  Giving each other trash about not having enough hair, having too much belly, or too little intellect is a way of bonding (at least for men it is). 

I must be careful that that is not what happens in my relationship with my kids. At the beginning of Jesus’ ministry, here is what God the Father said about Jesus.  “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.”  It is VERY interesting to know what miracles and great works Jesus had done before He received this major affirmation from God.  I’ll come back to that later. 

Here are three affirmations that the Heavenly Father gave Jesus that I must give my kids as well.

1.  I believe in you. – When the Father spoke to Jesus, He showed and spoke words that reflected He believed in Jesus.  My kids have to know that I believe in them and they need to hear that their daddy thinks they are special, talented, and just all around awesome!  They need to know that I believe that that they have everything that they need to do all that God wants them to do.   

2.  I am proud of you. – Not only did the Father believe in Jesus, but He also revealed how proud He was of His Son.  My kids need to know that their daddy is proud of them too.  They need to know that their daddy takes pride in them and is proud of them no matter what.  They need to know that I think they are amazing.  Instead of only finding things to scold them about, I need to find things to affirm them of, and remind them that their daddy couldn’t be more proud of them. 

3.  I will always love you. – The Heavenly Father also spoke words to reflect that He loved Jesus.  I’m sure Jesus already knew it, but what an affirmation to hear it spoken.  I must not assume that my kids already know that I will always love them.  They need to know that if they graduate first in their class, if they are in the top half of the class, or if they are in the half of the class that made the top half possible (think about that for awhile), I will still love them.  If they are athletic, artistic, smart, not so smart, they need to know that I will still be crazy about them. 

In the future, when someone tells my kids, “You are just like your father”, I must decide now if that will be an insult to them, or a great compliment to them. 

If I don’t speak life to them and let my anger get the better of me.  If I don’t treat their mom great and I act like a Christian on Sundays, but live differently on Mondays through Saturdays, when someone says to my kids, “You are just like your dad”, it will cause my kids great anger, discouragement and resentment. 

On the other hand, if I fight the good fight and keep following Christ even when I don’t feel like it, and I maintain a Christ like integrity and character in what I do and with the people I interact with, long after I am gone, when someone says to my kids, “You are just like your dad”, their eyes will water up and they will say, “You think so?  I mean he always did his best to follow Jesus and really cared for people.  He really was a man of God.  You really think I’m like him?”  The legacy I leave for tomorrow is based on my actions today.   

So what was it?  What miracles did Jesus perform before the Heavenly Father affirmed Him and told Him that He believed in Jesus, that He was proud of Jesus, and that He loved Jesus?  Here is the answer.  NOTHING!!! God’s affirmation of Jesus was not at all based on what Jesus did (because He didn’t perform great miracles at that time), but was instead entirely based on who He was!  God’s Son!  My affirmation of my kids must not simply be dependant on how they perform or what they do, but instead it must be based on who they are and who God says they are.  

Lord teach me to parent my kids as You parent me.  Lead me in caring for my kids as You care for me.  Amen.  

Leave a Reply

